It started with a quote

Today was Writers Group day so no time for a coffee house visit and no time therefore to think of something clever to write or photographs to take which might inspire a poem or blog idea. Instead I needed to find some witty quote to put up on my Twitter feed. I ended up finding a list of literary quotes about starting your day on a website called Shortlist.com and thought I would share a few with you, especially after one grabbed my attention. Here it is:

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.”

Jack Kerouac ‘On The Road’

What an incredible piece of writing. One long stream of thought summing up a type of person we’d all like to be or to meet yet knowing we wouldn’t last long or the relationship with such a person wouldn’t last for long. I’ve not read the book On The Road but I became interested in its ideas and in Kerouac after seeing the movie made based on the book a few years ago. I think I have blogged a piece I felt compelled to write after seeing the film. It had quite an affect on my own writing style and led to my development of the hyphenated words I used in the Bobby Olsen books.

 

“Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark in the hopeless swamps of the not-quite, the not-yet, and the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved and have never been able to reach. The world you desire can be won. It exists.. it is real.. it is possible.. it’s yours.”

Ayn Rand ‘Atlas Shrugged’

Another wonderful quote, that opening sentence is terrific. I’ve never heard of the book or the writer but this is enough to make me want to go and find it in the library. It reads like the words you want a headteacher or principal to deliver during the assembly on the last day of the school year as a group of young people prepare to leave to enter the adult world. So inspiring. You could do with it written above your bed to read each morning.

 

“I know not all that may be coming, but be it what it will, I’ll go to it laughing.”

Herman Melville ‘Moby Dick’

Such a simple sentence yet so powerful, it makes that lump in your throat stick and tears start to form in your eyes. What a wonderful phrase and thought to live your life by.

 

I think those three are enough to start with.

 

Leave a Reply

